Legacy Past Presidents Award

From the desk of Dr. Robert Mans

Please join us as a Founder Society Member of the New “OOPA Legacy Past Presidents Award” to be presented annually to a future optometric leader in the state of Oregon.

With the passing of Dr. Candy Hamel, a former OOPA President, OOPA created this award to foster her legacy as well the legacies of current and future Past Presidents. The OOPA hopes to further its mission of promoting, protecting, and advancing the practice of optometry by developing future leaders of our profession. Members and all past presidents have passionately supported the organization for many years, but it is important for us to support those who may step forward to continue our tradition of service to the community and industry.

The $3,000 award will be presented to either a 3rd or 4th year optometry student from Pacific University College of Optometry (PUCO) who is committed to practicing in Oregon upon graduation, or an OOPA member who has been in practice in the state for up to 5 years. 

Join us and select one these two categories of giving - Donate Here

· Founder’s Society: $1,000
· Visionary Society: $500

Oregon Foundation for Vision Awareness (OFVA), supported administratively by OOPA, is serving as fiscal
agent for the scholarship Award.  EIN # is: 81-0624290. Checks may be made payable to OFVA and sent
to the attention of Lynne Olson, Director of Operations, OOPA, 4404 E King Rd., Milwaukie, OR 97222. 

We are pleased to announce that one past president has already pledged $5,000 for this campaign and
Columbia Bank has partnered with us as a lead supporter.

Let’s show our spirit of giving as a show of “We Believe in OOPA and Optometry”! Please feel free to contact me to discuss this exciting opportunity at (541) 999-1585.


Robert Mans, OD, Past President – 2006/07,
- OOPA Legacy Award Committee Chair

Gabby Marshall, OD, Past President - 2017/19
Douglas Walker, OD, Past President - 2010/11